Skeeter Davis & NRBQ / She Sings, They Play - deluxe edition- Omnivore Recordings (OV CD 546) $13.98

After working with her sisters in The Davis Singers, Skeeter Davis embarked on a storied solo career. Charting nearly 40 singles between 1957–1974, her recording of “The End Of The World” (Produced by Chet Atkins) hit #2 on both the Pop and Country charts, #1 Adult Contemporary, and #4 R&B in 1962. Think about that!

Since Skeeter had already criss-crossed genres, the thought of a collaboration with music’s Pandora’s Box, otherwise known as NRBQ, didn’t seem out of the realm of her talents or sense of adventure.

Terry Adams discovered the unique style of the David Sisters through 45s and 78s, fell in love with the tunes and added some of the songs to early NRBQ set lists. He also set about pulling together a compilation of their music from which a correspondence between Skeeter and Terry began. The pairing was meant to be in so many ways.

She Sings, They Play was a natural coupling, and was issued to critical acclaim in 1985. “We had more fun making this record. What other group would think to do ‘Someday My Prince Will Come’ in 4/4 time?” asked Skeeter Davis.

She Sings, They Play returns nearly four decades after its original release, remastered and including six previously unissued bonus tracks—two studio outtakes appear on the LP while those, and four more live tacks are now available on the CD/Digital version. The packaging contains updated artwork, photos from the sessions, and insightful liner notes from John DeAngelis.

It’s a fresh look at an incredible union of two groundbreaking artists. She Sings, They Play. You enjoy!

1 Things to You

2 Everybody Wants a Cowboy

3 I Can’t Stop Loving You Now

4 Heart to Heart

5 Ain’t Nice to Talk Like That

6 Everybody’s Clown

7 I Want You Bad *

8 Someday May Prince Will Come

9 How Many Tears

10 You Don’t Know What You Got Til You Lose It

11 Roses on My Shoulder

12 Temporarily Out Of Order

13 May You Never Be Alone

14 I Gotta Know *

15 Gonna Get Along Without You Now (live) *

16 Things To You (live) *

17 Ain’t Nice. To Talk Like That (live) *

18 The End Of the World (live) *

* previously unreleased